Staff List by Office of Research Function

Office of Research (OR) staff are grouped by functional areas of responsibility within the department. The OR is also among several groups that report to the Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR). Please select from the list below to find the contact information of OR and OVPR staff members within each functional area.

 

 

Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR)

The Vice President for Research has responsibility, under the Office of the Provost, for the general supervision, administration, and development of research activities, including all sponsored programs, conducted by the University and its faculty. The Vice President for Research is assisted in the duties of office by Associate Vice Presidents.

  • Vice President for Research, Professor

    Robert J. Bernhard

    Address: 317 Main Building

    Phone: (574) 631-1862

    Email: rbernhar@nd.edu


  • Officer Assistant, Office of the Vice President for Research

    Susan Monroe

    Address: 317 Main Building

    Phone: (574) 631-3902

    Email: skmonroe5@nd.edu


  • Associate Vice President for Research, Professor

    Richard Billo

    Address: 317 Main Building

    Phone: (574) 631-1196

    Email: rbillo@nd.edu


  • Office and Events Coordinator

    Nancy Chapleau

    Address: 317 Main Building

    Phone: (574) 631-9768

    Email: nchaplea@nd.edu


  • Research Communications Program Director

    Joanne D. Fahey

    Address: 317 Main Building

    Phone: 574.631.9762

    Email: fahey.17@nd.edu


  • Associate Vice President for Research, Associate Professor

    Hildegund Muller

    Address: 317 Main Building

    Phone: (574) 631-8795

    Email: hmuller@nd.edu


  • Associate Vice President for Research

    Liz Rulli

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-3072

    Email: lrulli@nd.edu


  • Associate Vice President for Research, Professor

    Richard Taylor

    Address: 317 Main Building

    Phone: (574) 631-7765

    Email: rtaylor@nd.edu


  • Advisor

    Sarah K. Wake

    Address: 317 Main Building

    Phone: (574) 631-8183

    Email: swake@nd.edu

(Back to top)

 

OR Administrative Support

  • Administrative Assistant

    Janet Kenyon

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-1095

    Email: jkenyon@nd.edu

  • Senior Administrative Assistant

    Connie Slack

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-2310

    Email: slack.1@nd.edu

(Back to top)

Research Business Intelligence (RBI)

Supports internal and external systems used for research administration and provides management reporting on research activity to internal and external stakeholders. Learn more >>

  • Director, Research Business Intelligence

    Terri Hall

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-7378

    Email: thall2@nd.edu

  • Research Business Intelligence Analyst

    Jessica Langager

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-1393

    Email: jlangage@nd.edu

  • Research Business Intelligence Analyst

    Kevin Mikel

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-6203

    Email: kmikel2@nd.edu

(Back to top)

Grants Program Management (GPM)

Provides broad Post-Award program management services including the following: Establishes award budget and accounts for grant expenditure, provides budget projections, and administers pre-award spending/advance accounts, processes re-budget requests, no-cost extensions or changes of scope or PI.  Serves as liaison with other central University business offices and supports purchasing, hiring and payroll transactions, reimbursement of travel and other financial transactions, assists with travel scheduling, conference organization, and other key functions related to research activities. Learn more >>

  • Director, Grants Program Management (Arts and Letters, Science)

    Melanie DeFord

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-8805

    Email: mdeford@nd.edu

  • Director, Grants Program Management (Engineering, Keough School of Global Affairs)

    Mike Zenk

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-9972

    Email: mzenk@nd.edu

College of Arts and Letters, Mendoza College of Business, Law School, School of Architecture and Other
  • Grants Program Manager

    Lori Doll

    Address: 940 Grace Hall (mail); 101B O’Shaughnessy Hall (office)

    Phone: (574) 631-6229

    Email: ldoll@nd.edu

  • Grants Program Manager

    Megan Sheraton

    Address: 940 Grace Hall (mail); 101D O’Shaughnessy Hall (office)

    Phone: (574) 631-6939

    Email: mujdak@nd.edu

College of Engineering
  • Grants Program Manager

    Lori D. McDonald

    Address: 940 Grace Hall (mail); 152 Engineering-Multidisciplinary Research Building (office)

    Phone: (574) 631-1107

    Email: lmcdona2@nd.edu

  • Grants Program Manager

    Rachel Parks

    Address: : 940 Grace Hall (mail); 214d Cushing Hall (office)

    Phone: (574) 631-2886

    Email: rparks1@nd.edu

  • Grants Program Manager

    Cortney Swift

    Address: 940 Grace Hall (mail); 263a Fitzpatrick Hall (office)

    Phone: (574) 631-2966

    Email: Cortney.Swift.7@nd.edu

 College of Science
  • Grants Program Manager

    Jeff Pethick

    Address: 940 Grace Hall (mail); 141 Galvin Life Science Center (office)

    Phone: (574) 631-1789

    Email: jpethick@nd.edu

  • Grants Program Manager

    Mike Vissage

    Address: 940 Grace Hall (mail); 252 Nieuwland Science Hall (office)

    Phone: (574) 631-7923

    Email: mvissage@nd.edu

  • Grants Program Manager

    Katrina Wicks

    Address: 940 Grace Hall (mail); 254 Nieuwland Science Hall (office)

    Phone: (574) 631-1203

    Email: kwicks1@nd.edu

Keough School of Global Affairs
  • Grants Program Manager

    Tina Chandler

    Address: 940 Grace Hall (mail); 254 Nieuwland Science Hall (office)

    Phone: (574) 631-6984

    Email: Tina.Chandler@nd.edu

Notre Dame Research Administration
  • Grants Program Manager

    Kara Primmer

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-2178

    Email: khuegel1@nd.edu

(Back to top)

Notre Dame Research Business Management

Develops budgets and provides expenditure projections for all OVPR units, including Strategic Research Initiatives (SRIs). Manages, tracks, and transfers OVPR funding commitments, including cost share and internal program awards.

  • Business Manager

    Michelle LaCourt

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-1589

    Email: mlacourt@nd.edu

  • Finance and Administration Assistant Program Director

    Jian Zhang

    Address:

    Phone: (574) 631-3061

    Email: jzhang13@nd.edu

(Back to top)

Policy, Training and Communications (PTC)

Expert resource for research related policies, develops and facilitates training and development workshops, and develops and ensures accuracy of OR websites. Learn more >>

  • Director, Research Administration Policy, Training and Communications

    Karen Pace

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-8305

    Email: kpace@nd.edu


  • Associate Program Director, Research Administration Policy, Training and Communications

    Judy Bemenderfer

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-0509

    Email: jbemende@nd.edu


  • Coordinator, Policy, Training and Communications

    Lori Flory

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-3688

    Email: lflory@nd.edu

(Back to top)

Pre-Award (PRA)

Provides support for proposal preparation, assists in COS funding searches, reviews sponsor guidelines, prepares budget and budget justification, secures subcontract information, assists with cost share commitments, facilitates routing and submitting proposal to sponsor. Learn more >>

College of Engineering and School of Architecture

  • Associate Director, Pre-Award

    Shanda Wirt

    Address: 940 Grace Hall (mail); 263b Fitzpatrick Hall (office)

    Phone: (574) 631-8710

    Email: Wirt.1@nd.edu


  • Assistant Director, Pre-Award

    Mira Mihajlovich

    Address: 940 Grace Hall (mail); 214d Cushing Hall of Engineering (office)

    Phone: (574) 631-1173

    Email: mmihajlo@nd.edu


  • Assistant Director, Pre-Award

    Mark DeVore

    Address: 940 Grace Hall (mail); 152 Engineering-Multidisciplinary Research Building (office)

    Phone: (574) 631-7973

    Email: DeVore.1@nd.edu

 

College of Science

  • Associate Director, Pre-Award

    Shohn Turner

    Address: 940 Grace Hall (mail); 250 Nieuwland Science Hall (office)

    Phone: (574) 631-1085

    Email: sturner@nd.edu


  • Assistant Director, Pre-Award

    Ed Ackerley

    Address: 940 Grace Hall (mail); 141 Galvin Life Science Center (office)

    Phone: (574) 631-5488

    Email: ackerley.1@nd.edu

Institute for Scholarship in the Liberal Arts (ISLA), Arts & Letters Pre-Award Team
  • Associate Director, Institute for Scholarship in the Liberal Arts (ISLA)

    Kenneth Garcia

    Address: 101 O'Shaughnessy Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-6494

    Email: kgarcia@nd.edu

  • Assistant Director, Institute for Scholarship in the Liberal Arts (ISLA)

    Lori Loftis

    Address: 101 O'Shaughnessy Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-4264

    Email: lloftis@nd.edu

(Back to top)

Research Contracts and Awards (RCA)

Reviews, negotiates and accepts research agreements on behalf of the University, generates subcontracts and research consulting agreements, and assists with project closeout and reporting. Learn more >>

  • Director, Research Contracts and Awards

    Greg Luttrell

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-2857

    Email: Luttrell.1@nd.edu


  • Assistant Director, Research Contracts and Awards

    Rebecca Hackett

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-7433

    Email: rhacket2@nd.edu


  • Administrative Assistant

    Kathleen Miller

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-3139

    Email: kmille37@nd.edu

(Back to top)

 

Additional groups that report to the Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR)

Office of  Technology Transfer (OTT)

Manages the process of identifying, disclosing, protecting (via patents and copyrights) marketing, and licensing new technologies developed at the University of Notre Dame. Learn more from the OTT website >>

  • Director, Technology Transfer

    Richard Cox

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-5158

    Email: rcox4@nd.edu


  • Technology Commercialization Program Director

    Patrick McMahon

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-1322

    Email: pmcmaho2@nd.edu


  • Licensing Associate

    Tim Joyce

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-3029

    Email: joyce.17@nd.edu


  • Senior Commercialization Officer, Cleveland Clinic

    Gaylene Anderson

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-9692

    Email: andersg4@ccf.org


  • Licensing Manager

    Page Heller

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-7499

    Email: rheller@nd.edu

(Back to top)

Research Compliance

Provides information, support, expertise, and systems of administration needed to meet the laws, rules, and policies governing research in the most efficient and effective way. Learn more >>

  • Research Compliance Coordinator

    Nakesha Alexander

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-1389

    Email: nalexan1@nd.edu

  • Associate Vice President for Research, Professor

    Cindy S. Bergeman

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-0881

    Email: cbergema@nd.edu

(Back to top)

Research Development

Coordinates complex proposal submissions and alerts researchers of limited submissions funding opportunities and internal competitions.

  • Research Development Program Director

    Heather Boyd

    Address: 940 Grace Hall

    Phone: (574) 631-4104

    Email: hboyd@nd.edu

(Back to top)

 

 

 

One Response to Staff List by Office of Research Function

  1. Pingback: Contact Us | Notre Dame Office of Research